Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.
We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.
The term grey literature refers to research that is either unpublished or has been published in non-commercial form.
Examples of grey literature include: policy statements and issues papers; conference proceedings; pre-prints and post-prints of articles; theses and dissertations; research reports; newsletters and bulletins and fact sheets.
Grey literature can be found by doing an Internet search focusing your search terms, for example ending your search with site:.gov.uk to look for government reports. You will also find grey literature by searching some of our news databases that can be found on our newspaper resources guide (please see the link at the right hand side of this page).
Most databases allow you to limit your search by document type so you can look for grey literature as part of your research.
Other recommended resources include:
- Bielefeld Academic Search EngineOperated by Bielefeld University Library this search engine indexes open access academic literature. The Advanced Search option allows you to search for specific types of grey literature.
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowBox of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
- Digital Education Resource Archive (dera)The Institute of Education Digital Education (University of London) Resource Archive (DERA) is a digital archive of all documents published electronically by government and related bodies in the area of education.
- Open Grey This link opens in a new windowThe System for Information on Grey Literature in Europe provides open access to over 700,000 bibliographical references.
- Teachers TV from Education in VideoProvides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts
Newcastle University Library has an Education Outreach team who work with colleagues to create links with schools and colleges.
Explore the award winning Study Skills for Sixth Form website and find out about some of the exciting Education Outreach projects we’ve run.
Resource Guides
Explore the different types of information available at the Library.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
