Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.
We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.
Technical, material property, standards and data sources
- Chemical, Physical and Materials Data GuideOur Chemical, Physical and Materials Data Guide links to all top resources for finding data for your studies.
- Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThe top database for finding Engineering technical literature and material properties.
- British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new windowNewcastle University has access to British Standards Online which provides access to full-text current British Standards.
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowA collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information and covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new window
This database is particularly useful for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry. CIS provides fundamental industry information and legislation, as well as additional sector material. The extensive range of full-text documents cover all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland.
- ASCE Proceedings This link opens in a new windowWe have access to 35 journals and the proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Great place to find technical literature and standards.
- Campaign for Science and Engineering (CaSE)The UK’s leading independent advocate for science and engineering with a mission focus on skills, funding and policies.
- IEEEIEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity.
- Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)Inspiring, informing and influencing the global engineering community to engineer a better world.
- SevconSevcon is a world leader in electrification technologies.
- SiemensA digital pioneer that focuses on the areas of electrification and automation.
- Engineering CouncilThe UK’s regulatory body for the engineering profession that holds national registers for 222,000 engineers and technicians.
- WolframAlphaA unique engine for computing answers, analysis and reports using expert-level knowledge and algorithms.
Resource Guides
Explore the different types of information available at the Library.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
