Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.
We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.
General resources
A range of resources relevant to the study of history.
- Newcastle University Special Collections and ArchivesUnique and rare resources held by Newcastle University's Philip Robinson Library.
- Great North Museum: Hancock LibraryA unique library on the 2nd floor containing collections from the Society of Antiquaries Newcastle upon Tyne, the Natural History Society of Northumbria and the Cowen collection.
- Archives HubSubject guide to archive collections held in UK universities and colleges.
- Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new windowElectronic Enlightenment is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
- Empire OnlineA wide range of digitised primary source material, including letters, maps and government papers, covering empires across the globe from the 15th - 21st centuries.
- EuropeanaExplore millions of images, films and other archival material from galleries, museums, archives and libraries across Europe. Search by topic and refine by copyright to find reusable materials. Can also refine to find images, films, audio etc.
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains the full digitised archives of 26 LGBT publications, mainly from the UK and USA. Coverage dates from 1957 to 2015 (depending on the specific publication).
- Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new windowA wide range of digitised primary source material, including letters, diaries and oral histories, covering migration from Europe and Asia to the USA, Canada, and Australasia between 1800-1924.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new windowBrings together thousands of digitised resources related to slavery: including books, manuscripts, maps and records such as registers and ships' logs. Case studies and contextual essays are also provided.
- Women's Magazine ArchiveA searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history.
- BBC RewindAn archive of thousands of BBC current affairs broadcasts from Northern Ireland between 1952-1979.
- BFI Player This link opens in a new window11,000 archive films are available to watch free on BFI Player from the British Film Institute's national and regional archives. This collection grows constantly as more material is digitised.
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new windowBox of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
- EUscreenFree online access to video, stills and audio from selected European broadcasters from 1900-present. Includes French, German and Catalan broadcasters amongst others.
- Bridgeman Education (images) This link opens in a new windowThis database provides access to over three million images, including paintings, posters, artefacts and photographs, from galleries and collections worldwide. All images are copyright-cleared for educational use, and cover a wide range of themes. NB If accessing off-campus, click on User login>Login via Shibboleth>Ncl Uni once you are on Bridgeman.
- British Cartoon ArchiveDigitised images from the archive's collection of over 150,000 British cartoons from newspapers and other sources, dating back to 1904.
- Oral history collections from the British LibraryOverview of oral history recordings on various themes from the British Library sound archive (some are available online)
- Oral history societyIncludes advice, events and special interest groups.
- World Bank oral historiesOral histories from 1961 to the present. Can search by country.
- Nexis® Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni enables you to search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowSearch across multiple Gale e-resources at once (this includes most of our historic newspaper and periodical archives, except for The Observer/Guardian.) It also includes Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowSearch over 360 volumes of this major series, covering worldwide history from ancient to modern, literature, language, music, and more. All volumes are also individually listed on Library Search. NEW! We have just added 11 more volumes, covering Ireland, Communism, modernism and slavery.
Resources by geographical region
Resources specific to the study of history in particular parts of the world.
Archives and collections
- BBC Handbooks, Annual Reports and Accounts, 1927-2002 This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains handbooks, annual reports and accounts published by the BBC between 1927 and 2002. It also includes a review of each year’s public service broadcasting, with detailed schedules, audience research, performance and objective tables, commentaries, and editorials. A great opportunity to examine the social and cultural forces that shaped Britain in the 20th century.
- British Labour Party papers, 1968-1994 This link opens in a new windowIncludes minutes of the Party Meetings, the Liaison Committee and the Parliamentary Committee (Shadow Cabinet)
- British Officers' diaries from World War One This link opens in a new windowThese diaries reveal what life was like for the average British soldier in the Battle of the Somme and later battles of Ypres. The battles of Loos, Arras, Vimy Ridge, and Bethune are also covered. The letters home will have been censored by the army: how much was removed depended on the censor. Tactical information and details of military training often remain, as the main concern was morale.
- British Union of Fascists: Newspapers and Secret Files 1933-1951 This link opens in a new windowThis collection charts the rise and fall of fascism in Britain during the 1930s and 1940s, with a particular focus on Oswald Mosley’s blackshirt movement. The bulk of the documents are official BUF publications, including Fascist Week¸ The Blackshirt, The East London Pioneer, and Action. In addition, there are hundreds of Government documents relating to Mosley’s internment during the Second World War, including Cabinet Office, Home Office and Prime Ministerial papers.
- Church Missionary Society PeriodicalsChurch Missionary Society Periodicals features publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) between 1804 and 2009.
- Connected HistoriesCollection of 25 digital humanities projects related to various topics in British history for the period 1500-1900.
- ECCO Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowContains the digital images of every page of books printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more. Includes 18th Century Acts and Statutes of Ireland made in Parliamentary Sessions in Dublin.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new windowContains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new windowElectronic Enlightenment is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
- Historic Digimap This link opens in a new windowPart of the Digimap collection - contains historic OS maps from 1843-1996. Enables users to search, view and print maps, compare maps from different time periods, and download map data into a geographic information system.
- John Johnson Collection This link opens in a new windowFacsimile images of thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera held in the Bodleian Library, including posters, adverts and broadsides from the 18th to early 20th centuries.
- Legacies of British Slave-ownershipResearch project tracing the impact of slave ownership on the formation of modern Britain. Although primarily a resource for studying slave-owners, it also aims to provide information of value to those researching enslaved people.
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains the full digitised archives of 26 LGBT publications, mainly from the UK and USA. Coverage dates from 1957 to 2015 (depending on the specific publication).
- Literary Print Culture: The Stationers' Company ArchiveThe Stationers’ Company Archive is one of the most important resources for understanding the workings of the early book trade, the printing and publishing community, the establishment of legal requirements for copyright provisions, and the history of bookbinding. Explore extremely rare documents dating from 1554 to the 21st century in this invaluable resource of research material.
- LSE Digital LibraryThe London School of Economics Library has many archival collections relating to 20th century British political and social history. It also now houses the Women's Library.
- Mass Observation Online 1937-1967 This link opens in a new windowThis a major resource for British social history from 1937-1967. It contains material generated by the Mass Observation social research organisation, including all the day surveys, diaries and subject directives from 1937-1967, a wide range of themed topic collections, together with other material such as images and essays. We also have access to the Mass Observation 1980s and 1990s database. Read our blog post for more information about this archive.
- Mass Observation Project 1981-2009. This link opens in a new windowThis contains responses to the Mass Observation project in the 1980s,1990s and (NEW!) 2000s, covering political and social themes of the period, plus insights into everyday life. A fascinating insight into late twentieth century Britain. We also have access to the earlier Mass Observation Online database covering 1937-1967. Read our blog post for more information about this resource.
- National Archives research guidesNearly 400 guides from the National Archives explaining how to find and interpret archival collections on a wide range of topics, covering National Archives and archives elsewhere.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic HistoryOxford Bibliographies Online provides access to a comprehensive collection of articles published and reviewed by academics covering the topic of Atlantic History.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American StudiesOxford Bibliographies Online provides access to a comprehensive collection of articles published and reviewed by academics covering Latin American Studies.
- Paris Peace Conference and Beyond, 1919-1939 This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains archival material relating to this tumultuous period in European and world history. The documents cover the treaties of Versailles, Saint-Germain-en-Laye, Neuilly-sur-Seine, Trianon, Sèvres, Lausanne, and Locarno, as well as the foundation of the League of Nations. Most of the files are drawn from the UK National Archives, while the British Library provided the personal papers of Lord Robert Cecil and Sir Arthur Balfour.
- Royal College of Physicians archive. Part I, 1200-1862.The archive contains historical medical manuals, sketches, maps, books, journals & more with highlights including folk medicine, recipe books, medieval medicine, healers and domestic medicine, the early days of anatomy, and herbal medicine.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new windowBrings together thousands of digitised resources related to slavery: including books, manuscripts, maps and records such as registers and ships' logs. Case studies and contextual essays are also provided.
- State Papers Online, 1509-1714 This link opens in a new windowPapers of the Secretaries of State from the reign of Henry VIII to the end of the reign of Queen Anne, cross-referenced with the calendars (catalogues) to aid searching.
- State Papers Online: Eighteenth Century (1714-1782) This link opens in a new windowThis completes the State Papers Collection, covering the 18th century from the accession of the Hanoverian monarchs to the British throne in 1714 to the end of the State Papers series in 1782.
- Warwick University Modern Records CentreA selection of materials from these collections have been digitised, relating to British and world history of the 20th century.
- Women's Magazine ArchiveA searchable archive of leading women's interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Subject coverage includes consumer culture, economics/marketing, family life, fashion, gender studies, health and fitness, home/interior design, popular culture, and social history.
News
- Nexis® Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni enables you to search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowSearch across multiple Gale e-resources at once (this includes most of our historic newspaper and periodical archives, except for The Observer/Guardian.) It also includes Eighteenth Century Collections Online.
- Irish Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowDigitised archive of Irish regional and national newspaper titles from the 17th century to date. New content is added daily.
Reference
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new windowThis supersedes the RHS bibliography, and contains over 600,000 records of historical writing about the British Isles, British Empire and the Commonwealth, covering all periods from 55BC to the present. Links to full text articles are provided where available.
- British History Online This link opens in a new windowContains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources of medieval and modern history of the British Isles. It includes volumes of the Victoria County History and the Journals of the House of Commons and House of Lords.
- Irish History Online This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative guide to what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowAn illustrated collection of more than 57,000 specially written biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the Oxford English Dictionary
Archives and collections
- African American Communities This link opens in a new windowFocusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and North Carolina, this collection presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, photographs, correspondence, official records and in-depth oral histories.
- American Archive of Public BroadcastingProject to digitise 40,000 hours of public broadcasting from 1940s to present.
- American Presidency ProjectAuthoritative, non-partisan source for public documents of all US Presidents.
- ArchiveGridArchiveGrid includes over 7 million records describing archival materials from America, Canada and Australia. Bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more
- Church Missionary Society PeriodicalsChurch Missionary Society Periodicals features publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) between 1804 and 2009.
- CIA electronic reading roomDocuments on a wide range of topics, including foreign affairs, released by the US Central Intelligence Agency.
- Documenting the American SouthOpen access resource containing sixteen thematic collections related to southern history, literature and culture.
- Library of Congress digital collectionsThe Library of Congress' digital library containing millions of items, including maps, photographs, documents, audio and video, relating to American history and life. Click film, photographs etc in the drop down search box to limit by format.
- Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new windowA wide range of digitised primary source material, including letters, diaries and oral histories, covering migration from Europe and Asia to the USA, Canada, and Australasia between 1800-1924.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Atlantic HistoryOxford Bibliographies Online provides access to a comprehensive collection of articles published and reviewed by academics covering the topic of Atlantic History.
- Presidential LibrariesLibraries for 13 former US Presidents, which contain extensive archival material, a good proportion of which has been digitised.
- Race Relations in America This link opens in a new windowCollection of primary source material covering Civil Rights in the USA from 1943-1970. Content includes photographs, correspondence, audio recordings, data and case studies, together with contextual features to help with interpreting the material.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new windowBrings together thousands of digitised resources related to slavery: including books, manuscripts, maps and records such as registers and ships' logs. Case studies and contextual essays are also provided.
- Slavery in America and the WorldNew free resource from HeinOnline: the most comprehensive database on the topic of slavery in the United States and the World. It brings together every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, all federal statutes related to slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. The database also contains hundreds of books and pamphlets written about slavery. Free to access, but you need to register.
- US National ArchivesThe USA's archives service, which preserves government and historic records. Millions of records can be searched, and over a million documents have been digitised. Click 'research a specific topic' to go to the section you require.
Newspapers
- Accessible Archives (American history) This link opens in a new windowOnline access to several American newspaper collections from the Civil War period, including Godey's Lady's Book (which includes colour images), The Liberator and the New York Herald.
- American Prison NewspapersOpen access collection of historic prison newspapers from across the USA.
- American newspapers on microfilmWe hold the following American newspapers, relating to African American history, on microfilm in our multimedia room on Level 4 (next to the information point):
Abolition and Emancipation; Arkansas Gazette; Birmingham News; Black Enterprise; Black Panther; Black World; Ebony; Liberation; News and Observer Raleigh; New South; Southern Patriot; Tan
- Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1 1718-1876 This link opens in a new windowThe largest collection of fully searchable 18th and 19th century Caribbean newspapers, covering 140 titles from 22 islands. Essential sources for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
- Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowA selection of full-text newspaper pages from 1789-1963.
- Early American Newspapers 1801-1900 This link opens in a new windowDigitised content of 500,19th century newspaper titles, including regional weeklies, big-city dailies and many titles of unique historical significance.
- Harper's Weekly 1857-1912 This link opens in a new windowFull text of this publication from 1857-1912, covering the American Civil War era, Reconstruction and the Gilded Age. Harper’s Weekly was the definitive newspaper of record for the latter part of the 19th century.
- Independent Voices: alternative press newspapersOpen access collection of US alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals dating from the latter half of the 20th century.
- New York Times Archive 1857-1922 This link opens in a new windowFor more than a century, The New York Times has commanded international readership. You can browse or search the world news and personal stories captured by this Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper.
- Nexis® Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni enables you to search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages.
Reference
- America: History and Life This link opens in a new windowCovers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1910 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
- Cambridge Histories Online: AmericaOnline version of this major multi-volume work.
- Cambridge History of Latin AmericaOnline version of this major multi-volume work.
Archives and collections
- Church Missionary Society PeriodicalsChurch Missionary Society Periodicals features publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) between 1804 and 2009.
- East Asia: British Library guide for researchersGuide to collections held at the British Library and elsewhere, relating to East Asian studies.
- Empire OnlineA wide range of digitised primary source material, including letters, maps and government papers, covering empires across the globe from the 15th - 21st centuries.
- Migration to New Worlds This link opens in a new windowA wide range of digitised primary source material, including letters, diaries and oral histories, covering migration from Europe and Asia to the USA, Canada, and Australasia between 1800-1924.
- National Archives of SingaporeIncludes a wide range of online materials, such as documents, oral histories and photographs.
- Silk Road OnlineProject to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the internet, and to encourage their use through educational and research programmes.
- Wilson Center digital archiveOnce-secret documents from worldwide governments, focusing in particular on the Cold War, nuclear proliferation, and North Korea.
Audiovisual and news
- BBC China FocusBBC news focusing on China.
- Chinese mediaLinks to Chinese TV, radio and newspapers online.
- China Visual Arts Project ArchiveUnique archival collection from University of Westminster of some 800 posters spanning the period between the late 1950s and the early 1980s. The majority of the collection dates from the 1960s to the 1970s, making it an important resource for study of the Cultural Revolution.
- Financial Times Chinese versionChinese language version of the Financial Times.
- Historical photographs of ChinaExplore thousands of digitised images of photographs of China taken between 1850 and 1950, including many previously unseen albums and private collections.
- Japanese mediaLinks to Japanese TV, radio and newspapers online.
- Punjab newspapers: selections 1874-1924Available on CD-ROM.
- Tibet oral history projectOral histories from over 300 Tibetan elders.
- Tibetan oral history archive projectOnline archive of oral history interviews in Tibetan and Chinese with accompanying written transcripts (in English)
Reference
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (Association for Asian Studies) This link opens in a new windowThis online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies contains 860,000 records on all subjects pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia, published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
- Cambridge History of ChinaOnline version of this major multi-volume work.
- Cambridge History of IranOnline version of this major multi-volume work
- Cambridge History of JapanOnline version of this major multi-volume work.
- New Cambridge History of India24 volumes online
Archives and collections
- British Library collections: Russia and the former Soviet UnionOverview of the British Library's significant collections.
- Harvard Project on the Soviet Social SystemThe digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s, it was compiled in English and organised according to a rigorous social science framework, making it accessible to a broad range of students and scholars.
- Hoover InstitutionVarious collections relating to Russian and East European history, some of which have been digitised.
- Leeds University Library Russian collectionsLeeds University Library has 500 archival collections relating to Russian history.
- Princeton University Library Slavic collectionsOver 500 digitised items from Princeton's collections of rare documents relating to the history of the former Soviet Union.
- Russian Revolution and BritainCollections from the Modern Records Centre at Warwick University. More than 650 documents have been digitised and are now freely available online.
- School of Slavonic and East European Studies library Russian collectionsUseful links and collections.
- Society for Co-operation in Russian and Soviet StudiesLibrary and cultural centre, based in London, that promotes knowledge of the culture, language and history of Russia and the former Soviet Union
- Wilson Center digital archiveOnce-secret documents from worldwide governments, focusing in particular on the Cold War, nuclear proliferation, and North Korea.
Reference
- Cambridge Histories Online: RussiaOnline version of this major multi-volume work.
Archives and collections
- Archives nationalesFrench national archives. Includes some digitised collections.
- Bibliothèque publique d'informationSearch and explore the collections of the BPI, for information on all aspects of contemporary France.
- Catalog collectif de FranceThe French version of COPAC - huge catalogue enabling you to search the combined holdings of the Bibliothèque nationale de France, as well as French university, public and special libraries.
- Electronic Enlightenment This link opens in a new windowElectronic Enlightenment is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
- EuropeanaExplore millions of images, films and other archival material from galleries, museums, archives and libraries across Europe. Search by topic and refine by copyright to find reusable materials. Can also refine to find images, films, audio etc.
- France: British Library guideGuide to collections at the British Library and elsewhere relating to France.
- French archival sourcesPrimary sources for French history, maintained by the European University Institute.
- Gallica: National French Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull text documents digitised from the collections of the Bibliotheque National
- Paris Peace Conference and Beyond, 1919-1939 This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains archival material relating to this tumultuous period in European and world history. The documents cover the treaties of Versailles, Saint-Germain-en-Laye, Neuilly-sur-Seine, Trianon, Sèvres, Lausanne, and Locarno, as well as the foundation of the League of Nations. Most of the files are drawn from the UK National Archives, while the British Library provided the personal papers of Lord Robert Cecil and Sir Arthur Balfour.
Audiovisual and news
- EUscreenFree online access to video, stills and audio from selected European broadcasters from 1900-present. Includes French, German and Catalan broadcasters amongst others.
- French mediaLinks to French TV, radio and newspapers online.
- Historic French newspapers onlineDigitised collections of several major French newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Institut national de l'audiovisuel (INA)Digitised collections from l'INA, the world's largest digital archive, containing 3.5 million hours of TV and radio recordings.
- Nexis® Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni enables you to search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages.
Archives and collections
- DDR MuseumYou can contact them (in English or German) with research queries.
- Deutsche Digitale BibliothekNew site with the aim of offering unrestricted access to Germany’s cultural and scientific heritage, including millions of books, archived items, images, sculptures, music, films and scores, from all over Germany.
- Deutsche National BibliothekCatalogues of the National Library of Germany and other collections.
- EuropeanaExplore millions of images, films and other archival material from galleries, museums, archives and libraries across Europe. Search by topic and refine by copyright to find reusable materials. Can also refine to find images, films, audio etc.
- German archival sourcesList of primary source for German history, maintained by the European University Institute.
- German Historical Institute LibraryBased in London: substantial collections relating to German history.
- German history in documents and imagesSelection of primary source materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present. Each section has been compiled by leading scholars, and English translations are included.
- German National ArchivesIncludes the archives of the former West and East Germanies. Includes digitised material and an English language version.
- Germany: British Library guideGuide to collections held at the British Library and elsewhere relating to German Studies.
- Holocaust: primary sourcesAnnotated list of key resources relating to the Holocaust, from the Stanley Burton Centre at Leicester University.
- ReichstagprotokolleCovers 1867-95 and 1919-39. Facsimile records of the Reichstag (German Hansard) for the period of the Weimar Republic and part of the Imperial period. The records are in German and in Fraktur script. Keyword searching available.
- Wiener LibraryOne of the world's most extensive archives on the Holocaust and Nazi era. Its unique collection of over one million items includes published and unpublished works, press cuttings, photographs and eyewitness testimony.
Audiovisual and news
- Austrian newspapers online 1810-1935Historic digitised collection.
- EUscreenFree online access to video, stills and audio from selected European broadcasters from 1900-present. Includes French, German and Catalan broadcasters amongst others.
- German mediaLinks to German TV, radio and newspapers online.
- Nexis® Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni enables you to search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages.
Reference
- BDSL onlineBibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft is an international bibliography of German literature and literary studies.
Archives and collections
- Biblioteca Nacional DigitalOnline materials digitised by the National Library of Portugal.
- Biblioteca Nacional de EspañaNational Library of Spain (BNE)
- Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de CervantesThe largest open-access repository of digitised Spanish-language historical texts and literature from the Ibero-American world.
- Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean EphemeraProject to digitise Princeton University's vast archive. Materials are mostly from the 20th/21st century.
- EuropeanaExplore millions of images, films and other archival material from galleries, museums, archives and libraries across Europe. Search by topic and refine by copyright to find reusable materials. Can also refine to find images, films, audio etc.
- Instituto CervantesOrganisation which promotes Spanish language and culture. You can visit its library, or search it online
- Latin America: guide to British Library collectionsGuide to the research collections at the British Library, relating to Latin America, written by subject experts.
- Latin America: resource for researchersResources available from Senate House Library.
- Latin American collections at Liverpool University LibraryInformation and listing for Liverpool University Library's Special Collections relating to Latin America.
- Latin American Government Documents ArchiveLAGDA seeks to preserve and facilitate access to ministerial and presidential documents from 18 Latin American and Caribbean countries. Content includes the full-text of official documents, plus video and audio recordings, speeches and reports.
- Portal de Archivos EspañolesLinks to various official Spanish archives, including digitised collections.
- Spanish archival sourcesList of primary sources for Spanish history, maintained by the European University Institute.
Audiovisual and news
- Caribbean Newspapers, Series 1 1718-1876 This link opens in a new windowThe largest collection of fully searchable 18th and 19th century Caribbean newspapers, covering 140 titles from 22 islands. Essential sources for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce and relations, New World slavery, and related topics.
- EUscreenFree online access to video, stills and audio from selected European broadcasters from 1900-present. Includes French, German and Catalan broadcasters amongst others.
- LANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.
- Latin American Art: University of Essex collectionThe University of Essex Collection of Latin American Art (UECLAA) is the only public collection in Europe dedicated exclusively to modern and contemporary art from Latin America. The collection has been digitised and is now available here via the VADS database.
- Nexis® Uni - UK, international and business news This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni enables you to search across local and major UK and international newspapers, business and industry trade magazines, business news, company information, press agencies and magazines from 1990s to present day, in various languages.
- Spanish Civil War archivesAn overview of archival material held in the UK related to the Spanish Civil War.
- Spanish mediaLinks to Spanish TV, radio and newspapers online.
- Spanish newspapers online 1772-1933Digitised collection of Spanish newspapers 1772-1933 from the Spanish National Library.
Reference
- Cambridge History of Latin AmericaOnline version of this major multi-volume work.
- Handbook of Latin American StudiesA bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. It alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.
- Institute of Latin American Studies resourcesLinks to resources and research.
Resource Guides
Explore the different types of information available at the Library.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
