Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.
We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.
- Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Box of Broadcasts provides access to over 2.2 million TV and radio broadcasts from over 75 channels, including most of the UK’s freeview network, all BBC TV and radio content from 2007, and several foreign language channels. This resource is not available outside the UK.
- Digital Education Resource Archive (dera)The Institute of Education Digital Education (University of London) Resource Archive (DERA) is a digital archive of all documents published electronically by government and related bodies in the area of education.
- EMCA (Ethnomethodology and Conversation Analysis) Wiki pageThis wiki features news, conferences, training, jobs and it's own database in the EMCA field.
- English Language TimelineFrom the British Library, this interactive timeline allows you to explore the evolution of English language, from the 11th century to the present day.
- Open Language Archives Community (OLAC)International partnership of institutions and language experts which hosts language archives and advises on best practice.
- Oxford Text Archive This link opens in a new window
This digital repository offers access to thousands of literary and linguistic texts in over 25 languages for research and teaching, allowing users to search, download, and cite resources.
- The Rosetta ProjectA global collaboration of language specialists and native speakers building a publicly accessible online archive of ALL documented human languages. Find audio, video and text files in this wiki.
- Teachers TV from Education in VideoProvides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts
- Using English for Academic PurposesA detailed resource on EAP in relation to assessment and all aspects of learning.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The online version of the Oxford English Dictionary; a reference guide to the meaning, history, and usage of words and phrases past and present, from across the English-speaking world.
- Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable bilingual dictionaries. We have access to French, German, Spanish, Chinese and Italian.
- Bilingual and Multilingual EducationThis Encyclopaedia reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of socio-geographic experience in the language and education field. Includes non-English speaking and non-western contributions.
- The Cambridge handbook of corrective feedback in second language learning and teachingThis is the first volume to provide an in-depth analysis and discussion of the role of corrective feedback in second and foreign language learning and teaching.
- The Cambridge handbook of language learningThis handbook covers prominent theories and methods from linguistics, psycholinguistics, processing-based, and cognitive approaches. The sections deal with skill development, individual differences, pedagogical interventions and approaches, and context and environment.
- The Cambridge handbook of second language acquisitionThis comprehensive handbook is an authoritative survey of second language acquisition (SLA) including third language acquisition, electronic communication, incomplete first language acquisition, alphabetic literacy and SLA, affect and the brain, discourse and identity.
- The Cambridge handbook of task-based language teachingThis comprehensive handbook is divided into five thematic areas not only covering theory, but also case studies to show how TBLT can be implemented in practice, in a range of global contexts.
- Encyclopedia of Applied LinguisticsOnline edition which covers 31 key areas of the field, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, Discourse and Technology and Language.
- Encyclopedia of language and educationThis edition reflects the depth of disciplinary knowledge, breadth of interdisciplinary perspective, and diversity of sociogeographic experience in the language and education field.
- A glossary of applied linguisticsApplied linguistics is understood to deal with language in use, particularly where institutions and interventions are involved. This alphabetic guide provides definitions and discussion of key terms used in the field.
- The Oxford Handbook of Applied LinguisticsIdeal for scholars, researchers and students alike, this text contains chapters on an unusually comprehensive range of subjects within applied linguistics, reflecting the current state of scholarship in the field.
- The Routledge handbook of English language teacher educationWith an overview of historical issues, theoretical frameworks and current debates, this handbook provides unique insights into a range of teacher education contexts, focusing on key issues relating to teacher and learner priorities, language and communication, current practices, reflective practice, and research. Edited by Newcastle University Professor Steve Walsh.
- The Routledge handbook of instructed second language acquisitionA collection of state-of-the-art papers pertaining to Instructed Second Language Acquisition (ISLA). The entries are full-length articles detailing pertinent issues with up-to-date references, linking research and practice.
- The Routledge Handbook of Language Learning and TechnologyThe handbook is structured around six themes:historical and conceptual contexts, core issues, interactive and collaborative technologies for language learning, corpora and data driven learning, gaming and language learning, purpose designed language learning resources.
- The Routledge handbook of research methods in applied linguisticsThis handbook provides a critical survey of the methodological concepts, designs, instruments and types of analysis that are used within the broad field of applied linguistics.
- BAAL: British Association of Applied LinguisticsBAAL is a professional association, based in the UK, which provides a forum for people interested in language and applied linguistics. It organises workshops, mailing lists, newsletter and conference proceedings and much more.
- BALEAP: The British Association of Lecturers in English for Academic PurposesBALEAP supports the professional development of those involved in learning, teaching, scholarship and research in English for Academic Purposes (EAP)
- British Council: Learn EnglishThe British Council work with governments and our partners in the education, English language and cultural sectors, in the UK and globally. This website focuses on English Language Learning and acquisition for learners.
- British Council: Teaching EnglishTeachingEnglish is a global programme for English teachers and teacher educators. Build your professional network, share ideas and knowhow, and stay up to date with the latest research and innovations in teaching.
- IATEFL: International Association of Teachers of English as a Foreign LanguageIATEFL support teachers and other ELT professionals in their professional development, and provide a platform where they can offer their views, exchange research and teaching experiences and learn from each other.
- NAFSA: Association of International EducatorsNAFSA: Association of International Educators is the world's largest and most diverse non-profit association dedicated to international education and exchange, working to advance policies and practices that ensure a more interconnected, peaceful world today and for generations to come.
- NALDIC: National Subject Association for English as an additional language.A professional forum for learning more about English as an Additional Language (EAL) and bilingual learners in schools. Their mission is to promote the effective teaching and learning of EAL and bilingual pupils across the UK.
- NATECLA : National Association for Teaching English and Community Languages to AdultsNATECLA (National Association for Teaching English and Other Community Languages to Adults) is the national forum and professional organisation for ESOL teachers. It has branches throughout the UK which organise events and workshops.
- TESOL International AssociationTESOL International Association advances professional expertise in English language teaching to speakers of other languages in multilingual contexts worldwide through professional learning, research, standards, and advocacy.
- The Linguist ListThe aim of the list is to provide a forum where academic linguists can discuss linguistic issues and exchange linguistic information.
Resource Guides
Explore the different types of information available at the Library.
Support and services
Explore further tools, guides and support from the Library.
