LibGuides: Marine Technology: Other resources

Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.

We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.

Technical, material property, standards and data sources

Chemical, Physical and Materials Data Guide
Our Chemical, Physical and Materials Data Guide links to all top resources for finding data for your studies.

Knovel eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
The top database for finding Engineering technical literature and material properties.
British Standards Online (BSOL) This link opens in a new window
Newcastle University has access to British Standards Online which provides access to full-text current British Standards.
ASTM Compass This link opens in a new window
A collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information and covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new window
This database is particularly useful for architects, civil and structural engineers, building control officers, building services engineers and other professionals in the construction industry. CIS provides fundamental industry information and legislation, as well as additional sector material. The extensive range of full-text documents cover all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland.
ASCE Proceedings This link opens in a new window
We have access to 35 journals and the proceedings from the American Society of Civil Engineers. Great place to find technical literature and standards.

Marine Management Organisation (MMO)
An executive non-departmental public body which licenses, regulates and plans marine activities in the seas around England.
Royal Institution of Naval Architects (RINA)
Internationally renowned institution involved in construction, design, maintenance and operation of marine vessels and structures
Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (SNAME)
Internationally recognised non-profit society serving the maritime and offshore industries and their suppliers.
UK Chamber of Shipping
Trade association and voice of the UK shipping industry with more than 180 members from across the maritime sector.
IMarEST (Institute of Marine Engineering, Science and Technology
IMarEST is the international professional body and learned society for all marine professionals.
Campaign for Science and Engineering (CaSE)
The UK’s leading independent advocate for science and engineering with a mission focus on skills, funding and policies.

Admiralty EasyTide
Tidal prediction service.
The International Maritime Organization (IMO)
Specialised UN agency with responsibility for the safety and security of shipping and the prevention of marine pollution by ships.
IPCC Special Report on the Ocean and Cryosphere in a Changing Climate (SROCC)
Report outlining the latest scientific knowledge for the physical science basis of climate change and it impacts.
Marine Digimap
Raster nautical charts derived from UK Hydrographic Office charts and panels and vector data covering all UK waters.
Marine Traffic
Real-time public information service displaying ship movements and their destinations around the world.
Maritime Affairs
Maritime Affairs website on maritime affairs and policies from the European Commission.
MarLIN: The Marine Life Information Network
Information on the biology of species and the ecology of habitats found around the coasts and seas of the British Isles.
National Maritime Museum
Epic stories of exploration and endeavour that have shaped our world today.
National Tidal and Sea Level Facility (NTSLF)
UK centre of excellence for sea level monitoring, coastal flood forecasting and the analysis of sea level extremes.
Port Cities
The history and origins of UK port cities.
The UK Hydrographic Office (UKHO)
Centre for hydrography specialising in marine geospatial data that helps to unlock a deeper understanding of the world's oceans
United Kingdom Hydrographic Office
Provides hydrographic and geospatial data to mariners and maritime organisations across the world.

Eurostat
Statistics and data from the Statistical Office of the EU to enable European-wide comparison between countries and regions.
HM Treasury
HM Treasury releases a large range of statistics including: Forecasts for the UK Economy; Weekly Economic Indicators; Statistics on Public Spending and Finance; Gross Domestic Product deflators.
Office for National Statistics
Britain's economy, population and society at national and local level. You can find statistics on the following themes: • Agriculture and Environment • Business and Energy • Children, Education and Skills • Crime and Justice • Economy • Government • Health and Social Care • Labour Market • People and Places • Population • Travel and Transport.
UK Data Service
The UK's largest collection of economic, population and social research data.
UNECE
Links to official statistical organizations active in the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) region.

United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) This link opens in a new window
The Department for Business, Innovation and Skills publish a range of National and Official Statistics; topics include: • Further and Higher Education • Building materials • Construction prices and costs • Economic performance and employment • Business population • Innovation • Trade Union Membership

Tyne and Wear Museums and Archives have rich collection of maritime history. Their user guide contains details of the kinds of material held in their archives relating to Shipbuilding, Marine Engineering, Ships Outfitting,Ship Repairing, Ship Registration & Professional and Employers Association.

There's even a special Mauretania section.

See our special Titanic Centenary Guide.