LibGuides: Business: Other resources

Every subject has unique and specialist types of information that add rigour and interest to research. Usually, you’ll need to look beyond Library Search for these information types; some are accessed via specialist databases, while others are available online via websites, social media or streaming platforms.

We’ve picked out some key resources for your subject here but you might like to explore our Resource Guides for more resources on different information types.

Based at Newcastle City Library, The Business & IP Centre Newcastle supports entrepreneurs, inventors and small businesses in the North East, from that very first spark of inspiration to successfully launching and developing a business. They are happy to support staff and students from Newcastle University and provide access to a number of additional business information sources including

Avention/ One Source for international company information and country profiles.
Cobra which provides advice and information to support small businesses.
IBISWorld market reports.
Mintel for market research.
British Standards Online.

To find out more about BIPC Newcastle, visit the BIPC website or our Employability Guide, for information about starting your own business and researching companies as potential employers.

UK Data Service This link opens in a new window
The UK Data Service provides access to a large collection of business microdata. This is provided by the Office of National Statistics. This includes:

Annual Respondents Database which provides productivity data for manufacturing, retail, catering, construction, property, motoring and wholesale firms. The dataset contains over a thousand variables.

Annual Survey of hours and earnings (ASHE) is a survey of employees' hours of work and wages collected from companies in GB. This replace the new earnings survey in 2002.

Business Structure Database (BSD) provides information on organisations who have registered for VAT or pay at least one member of staff through the Pay As You Earn (PAYE) tax system, will appear on this register. Therefore it is a very comprehensive source about business organisations in the UK.

UK Innovation Survey collects data from organisations, designed to capture advances in innovative activity. This includes innovations in: production; new goods and services; markets in which businesses operate.

Working papers are scientific or technical papers. Sometimes authors will publish working papers in order to share idea about a subject or to gain feedback before submitting journal articles. They are often available on websites associated to the author or the institution the author works at e.g. University.