Skip to main content
 

EndNote: Using EndNote with Word

EndNote tab in Microsoft Word

When it comes to writing up your research, EndNote is really useful in helping you cite references properly in the body of your text, and creating a bibliography for you.

You should ensure, however, that the versions of EndNote and Word you are using are compatible.  EndNote X7 is compatibile with Word 2013, 2010 & 2007.

Open Word and you should see an EndNote tab on the ribbon at the top of the screen.

If you cannot see the EndNote tab or you encounter any errors when using EndNote and word together see the Getting Help with EndNote for guidance.

Cite While You Write (CWYW)

If you are using EndNote Online you will then need to install the CWYW plug-in to your own version of Microsoft Word.  To do this, please follow these instructions:

  • Login to EndNote Online
  • Click on the Format tab
  • Click on Cite While You Write plug-in and download the appropriate plug-in for your system.  See the installation instructions and system requirements links for details.

Once you have installed the plug-in and have the EndNote Online tab in Word, you should find a range of referencing styles available to you via the drop-down styles menu.  If the style you require is not listed, click on Select Another Style to see the full list.

If you find that your Styles drop-down menu is empty or you would like a tailored list of styles, you can choose which style(s) you would like from within EndNote Online.

  • In EndNote Online click on the Format tab>Bibliography
  • Click on Select Favourites
  • Scroll through the list of styles, highlight and click Copy to Favourites to create your own list.

You should now see these styles available to you in your own version of Word.

If you were accessing EndNote Desktop off-campus through RAS (Remote Application Service), you would need to make sure that you are using Microsoft Word through RAS as well to ensure that there is a CWYW tab at the top.

Loading

Bibliographies and combining documents

If you've been asked to create an annotated bibliography, you can use EndNote to insert a full reference list into a Word document without the in-text citations.

In EndNote, first ensure that you have the correct referencing style selected at the top of the screen.  Now highlight the references you wish to appear in your bibliography (use the CTRL and/or the Shift keys to highlight multiple references).

Right-click on the highlighted area and select Copy Formatted.  Open a blank Word document and paste the references into it.

Now simply type in your annotations between the references as necessary.

You can also drag the references into a Word document using your mouse and selecting the CTRL key at the same time.

To create a separate bibliography document you need one EndNote library or group which contains all of the references you have used throughout your dissertation or thesis.

  • Ensure the correct referencing style is chosen within EndNote
  • Highlight all the references in your library or group as appropriate
  • Right click and select Copy Formatted.
  • Open a blank Word document and paste the references into it.

This document will display your full bibliography in your chosen style and can be added to the end of your submission.

If you are working on a long document, such as a dissertation or thesis, you may have several chapter documents which you wish to combine into one. In this final document you may require chapter bibliographies, one final bibliography or both. To ensure your final document displays your references correctly you must be careful to unformat/reformat your documents correctly. Follow the appropriate instructions below.

To combine multiple Word documents into one with one final bibliography

  • Open each chapter document and in the EndNote tab of each click on Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations
  • Copy and paste your documents together into one final document
  • Ensuring that your corresponding EndNote library or libraries are open, in this final document click on Update Citations and Bibliography
    Your document will be reformatted in your chosen style and will display one final bibliography at the end.

To combine multiple Word documents into one with chapter bibliographies

Keep each chapter document separate until the very end when you no longer wish to make any changes to your EndNote references. You will be combining them for printing/submission purposes only.

  • Open each chapter document and in the EndNote tab of each click on Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Plain Text
  • You will be warned that this will create a new copy of your document stripped of all EndNote markers. Click on OK to continue
  • Copy and paste your documents together into one final document

Your final document will retain chapter bibliographies.

Loading

Inserting citations, references, footnotes and figures

Insert Citation > Find Figure

You can then search by caption keyword or title

It's possible to add a text footnote to your document if you are using a numbered citation style.

Insert Citation > Insert Note

To add a reference, place your cursor where you wish to insert your citation then on the EndNote tab select Go to Endnote.

This takes you to your EndNote library. Navigate to and highlight your desired reference and click on the Insert Citation icon. 

From the EndNote tab in Word, you can also use Insert Citation > Find Citation. This opens up a dialogue box where you can search for a reference by author, title or keyword. Highlight the desired reference and click on Insert.

A picture of the citation window as seen on word

Below is a video giving an overview of inserting and managing citations with Cite While You Write (CWYW), which you may also find useful.

Occasionally you may need to reference several sources within the one citation. You can achieve this by placing the cursor just prior to the closing bracket of the first citation and adding the next reference. Word will merge this into the same reference.

You can change the order using the up and down arrows next to the citations when you click on Edit & Manage Citations.

To change the output style you can select an alternative from the drop down Style box in Word. The changes will be instant.

To edit citations you must use command options available in EN or Word - if you try to edit the body of the text in Word, the changes will not be permanently stored. Place your cursor in the reference to be amended then click on Edit and Manage Citations.

You can select to Exclude Year and/or Author, if you have already mentioned these in the body of your text.

You can add information in the Prefix or Suffix fields, for instance 'See' in the prefix or page numbers in the suffix fields.

Please note: do not use the Pages field for page numbers, use the Suffix field to ensure they are displayed correctly.

Below is a video giving an overview of inserting and managing citations with Cite While You Write (CWYW), including how to add page numbers. 

If you need to include references in your bibliography without including in-text citations, you'll need to insert what are known as 'blind' references. Simply add citations as normal then instruct EndNote to hide the in-text citations, leaving you with a reference in your bibliography only.

To keep the formatting tidy, it's a good idea to insert all 'blind' references at the end of your body of text. Once you're done, highlight and right click on each of the references and select Show Only in Bibliography

.

Loading

Writing and editing your Word document

If you wish to exclude your EndNote citations from your word count, you can do this by creating a new style that hides all citations.
 
You can do this yourself in EndNote by selecting Edit and Output styles, then Create a new style.  In the new window select File then Save as and give the blank style a name.  Then save it in your EndNote styles folder in your H drive.

You can then choose this output style in EndNote, then also in Microsoft Word.  As it is a blank style it will remove all citations so that you can then do your word count.  We have attached an example of this called 'Word count style', which you can use.

If you're submitting a document for publication, you should remove the field codes which may be incompatible with a publisher's design software:

Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Plain Text.
 
WARNING: This strips your document of EndNote coding so is only advisable when you have completely finished editing the document.
 
Manuscript templates

See the EndNote website for downloadable templates.

Loading

Creating an EndNote library from a Word document

It is possible to create a new EndNote library from a Word document if the references in the document were originally inserted from EndNote. This feature will not work with plain text. It is useful if you have worked on a document using several EndNote libraries and you now wish to have a library which includes every reference you have used in your document and no others.

You can easily create a separate final bibliography from such a library.

  • In Word, on the EndNote tab, click on Export to EndNote > Export Travelling Library
  • You get the option to export to an existing library or to a new EndNote library. Choose New and click OK
  • Give your new library a name and save it in a suitable location within your personal filespace (H drive)
  • You will be notified on screen that the Export is complete and your new library will show your exported references