Skip to main content

Newcastle University

University Library

Subject support guide

Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.

Library Search

EndNote

References & Bibliographies
 

If you've been asked to create an annotated bibliography, you can use EndNote to insert a full reference list into a Word document without the in-text citations.

In EndNote, first ensure that you have the correct referencing style selected at the top of the screen.  Now highlight the references you wish to appear in your bibliography (use the CTRL and/or the Shift keys to highlight multiple references).

Right-click on the highlighted area and select Copy Formatted.  Open a blank Word document and paste the references into it.

Now simply type in your annotations between the references as necessary.

You can also drag the references into a Word document using your mouse and selecting the CTRL key at the same time.

To create a separate bibliography document you need one EndNote library or group which contains all of the references you have used throughout your dissertation or thesis.

  • Ensure the correct referencing style is chosen within EndNote
  • Highlight all the references in your library or group as appropriate
  • Right click and select Copy Formatted.
  • Open a blank Word document and paste the references into it.

This document will display your full bibliography in your chosen style and can be added to the end of your submission.

If you are working on a long document, such as a dissertation or thesis, you may have several chapter documents which you wish to combine into one. In this final document you may require chapter bibliographies, one final bibliography or both. To ensure your final document displays your references correctly you must be careful to unformat/reformat your documents correctly. Follow the appropriate instructions below.

To combine multiple Word documents into one with one final bibliography

  • Open each chapter document and in the EndNote tab of each click on Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Unformatted Citations
  • Copy and paste your documents together into one final document
  • Ensuring that your corresponding EndNote library or libraries are open, in this final document click on Update Citations and Bibliography
    Your document will be reformatted in your chosen style and will display one final bibliography at the end.

To combine multiple Word documents into one with chapter bibliographies

Keep each chapter document separate until the very end when you no longer wish to make any changes to your EndNote references. You will be combining them for printing/submission purposes only.

  • Open each chapter document and in the EndNote tab of each click on Convert Citations and Bibliography > Convert to Plain Text
  • You will be warned that this will create a new copy of your document stripped of all EndNote markers. Click on OK to continue
  • Copy and paste your documents together into one final document

Your final document will retain chapter bibliographies.

Loading ...