Adding items directly onto your list from Library Search
To add a print or eBook directly to your list from Library Search using the 'Everything except articles' search:
- Click on the + button on the top right of your reading list. This will open the Search box on the right-hand side.
- Use the search options to find items from Library Search. Using the Advanced Search option allows you to search for title, author or ISBN.
- Select the item you want to add from the results list.
- Select the section you wish to add it to from the drop-down box.
- Click Add.
- Continue to add items as required or click the X at the top of the Search box to close it.
- The selected item(s) will now appear in your reading list.
- Click on 'Add tags to item' to indicate whether this is Essential, Recommended or Background reading. You will need to do this for each item, so students understand how important the item is, as well as the Library for making arrangements for a specific number of copies to be available.
- To add more items, click on the refresh icon and then continue.
To add another type of material, such as a journal article, directly to your list using Library Search and the 'Everything' search:
- Click on the + button on the top right of your reading list. This will open the Search pane on the right-hand side.
- Change the search option drop down from 'Everything except articles' to 'Everything'. Apply your search terms.
- Select the item you want to add from the results list.
- Select the section you wish to add it to from the drop-down box.
- Click Add.
- Continue to add items as required or click the X at the top of the Search box to close it.
- The selected item(s) will now appear in your reading list.
- Click on 'Add tags to item' to indicate whether this is Essential, Recommended or Background reading. You will need to do this for each item, so students understand how important the item is, as well as the Library for making arrangements for a specific number of copies to be available.
- To add more items, click on the refresh icon and then continue.
To add a book chapter to your list using Library Search:
- Click on the + button on the top right of your reading list. This will open the Search pane on the right-hand side.
- Apply your search terms to locate the book the chapter is contained within.
- Select the item you want to add from the results list.
- Select the section you want to add it to from the drop-down box.
- Click Add.
- On the entry in your reading list, click the three dots to the right of the entry and choose Edit item.
- Change the 'Type' drop-down from Book to Book Chapter. You will then see additional fields to enter the chapter title, author, chapter number and start/end page numbers.
- Save any changes.
- Click on 'Add tags to item' to indicate whether this is Essential, Recommended or Background reading. You will need to do this for each item, so students understand how important the item is, as well as the Library for making arrangements for a specific number of copies to be available.
- To add more items, click on the refresh icon and then continue.
Adding items from my bag
You can quickly build up a list of items and save them in 'My Bag'. You can then drag and drop an item from 'My Bag' onto your reading list.
Please note: 'My Bag' is a temporary location which will disappear when you log out of the Reading Lists service
- After searching for an item, if you decide you do not want to add it to your reading list straight away, click on 'Add to bag' and BAG IT.
- If you have added an item to 'your bag' a bag icon will appear in the top right-hand corner of the screen.
- Click on the bag icon to open your bag.
- Place the cursor on an item to select it and simply drag and drop this onto your reading list.
- Choose whether to Move or Copy your item.
- Click on 'Add tags to item' to indicate whether this is Essential, Recommended or Background reading. You will need to do this for each item, so students understand how important the item is, as well as the Library making arrangements for a specific number of copies to be available.
- To add more items, click on the refresh icon and then continue.
'My Bag' is a tool that can also be used to reorder the items on your list. Click on the three dots within the item and select 'Bag It' or 'Unbag It' to copy and paste between your bag and your list.
Adding items from My Collection
You can build up a list of items and save them in 'My Collection'. You can then drag and drop the item onto your reading list. This is useful if you want to permanently save a list of your favourite items and then re-use them on multiple reading lists.
Copying to 'My Collection':
- Once you have decided which item on your reading list you would like to save to your collection, click on the three dots to right of the entry.
- Select 'Copy to my collection'.
- To view items in your collection, click on 'My Collection' on the right-hand side pane.
Copying from 'My Collection':
- If you want to add an item to your list from your collection, click on the plus symbol to add an item. This will open the Search box on the right-hand side.
- Click to select the 'My Collection' tab.
- Select an item to appear on your list.
- Either click and drag the item onto your list, or click to select it and:
- Select the section you wish to add it to from the drop-down menu.
- Click Add.
- Click on Add tags to item to indicate whether this is Essential, Recommended or Background reading. You will need to do this for each item, so students understand how important the item is, as well as the Library making arrangements for a specific number of copies to be available.
- To add more items, click on the refresh icon and then continue.
PLEASE NOTE: If saving a book chapter or journal article scan in My Collection that has been requested via the Scanning and CLA digitisation service, please check the URL has been copied across. There have been occasions where this link has been lost in transit. This can also occur if using the Copy citation option. If you encounter any issues, please email the Reading Lists team for assistance.
