Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newcastle University

University Library

Subject support guide

Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.

Library Search

Newcastle Libraries - Self Guided Tours

Philip Robinson Library banner showing Book Trust Collection shelves and two students talking.

YourSpace
 

You now find yourself in YourSpace. (One of our favourite spaces in the Library!)

YourSpace was planned and developed following consultation with students who told us they wanted an informal collaborative study area where they could both work and interact without the worry of disturbing those in silent and quiet study spaces upstairs. Consequently, a trip down to YourSpace is always a unique study experience.

Photograph of three students sitting in a bookable study booth in YourSpace.

This collaborative study space offers a wide range of spaces and facilities including PCs, varied desks, interactive booths, whiteboards, and bookable study rooms. There's even a small dedicated Skype space (room 157) where you can chat online to peers, supervisors, interviewers, friends, and family, all across the globe. Take a wander around the room to see the different spaces for yourself.

Don't miss the snacks and drinks vending machines too - handy for helping you maintain energy levels and hydration when discussing and planning your next group project or presentation!

Explore more
 

Perhaps the most distinctive feature of YourSpace is the decorative rolling shelving situated in the corner, which houses the Booktrust Collection, one of the Library's many Special Collections. The Booktrust Collection contains roughly 50,000 items and covers a wide array of children’s literature dating from the 17th Century to the present day. The collection was transferred to the Philip Robinson Library in 2004 and represents a successful partnership between Newcastle University and Seven Stories: National Centre for Children's Books.

Photograph of the decorative BookTrust shelving, which features images of colourful, old children's book spine.

The eye catching illustrations on the front of the shelving bays are from our Butler Collection – one of many collections of historic rare books relating to children’s literature.

Along the side of the unit you'll find illustrations by Gwynedd M. Hudson from Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carol (1920).

The books within the collection are not for loan but can be browsed and consulted within the Library. A full list of all the items within the collection can be found on Library Search