Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Newcastle University

University Library

Subject support guide

Your subject-specific guide to using library resources.

Library Search

Newcastle Libraries - Self Guided Tours

Philip Robinson Library banner showing Book Trust Collection shelves and two students talking.

Special Collections
 

As part of Open Space on Level 2, you’ll find our exhibition space, showcasing the latest in a programme of changing exhibition from our fascinating Special Collections and Archives.  

The Library’s Special Collections and Archives are our unique treasures; collected, preserved and promoted by our Special Collections team so they can be explored and enjoyed by the University’s students and researchers, as well as researchers from other institutions and the wider community. Our over 200 unique and distinctive collections, dating from the 13th to 21st century, support a wide variety of subjects. They include rare books, newspapers, periodicals, ephemera, and pamphlets as well as archives like unpublished letters, diaries, photographs, maps, illustrations, manuscripts, and more, relating to significant people and organisations.                             The Special Collections team are based on Level 1 in Philip Robinson Library and most of their office and archive space is within the staff only area. However, it is possible to request access to a specific rare book or archive resource for research purposes, and view it in person using the Special Collections Reading Room, or online via the Virtual Reading Room service. They also have a wide variety of engaging digital resources and online versions of previous exhibitions.

Explore more
 

Interested in the history of Newcastle University Campus? 

Our Special Collections team have created a great campus tour, full of facts to impress your friends or visiting family. You can access the walking route online or download and print a copy of the tour below.

                Banner linking to Special Collections homepage.